Website

What is a Trackback on WordPress?

Hi, guys!

In today’s post, we are going to discuss about trackback. If you got a mail like “A new trackback on the post X is waiting for your approval”, here’s what you have to do.

When you log into your website’s dashboard and go to the comments, you should see something similar like this.

 

What exactly is a Trackback?

Well, in the early days of WordPress, bloggers used to exchange traffic by linking to each other’s posts. Now, in order to assure that they are not scamming each other(Just one of them to link to the other’s), WordPress added this option in order to give you a notification when someone has linked to your post.

So, this means that someone, somewhere on the internet, has linked to my post. That’s great news, right?

Well, of course, those are great news. It means that a website owner or a ghostwriter came to my Drake Lounge Bet review, liked how I reviewed the system and decided to link to my website for other visitors for them to find a more in-depth review of the subject.

What you have to do when you receive a trackback?

Whenever you receive such a message, you can’t approve it. You will have to delete it.

That’s because the search engines see it as SPAM and your ranking in Google/Bing/Yahoo/Yandex will be affected by it.

So, if you delete the comment, don’t you lose the link back to your site?

No. The comment is just a formality to let you know that someone has listed your post in one of their posts/pages.

With time, once you start and grow authority within your niche, your posts will start to get more and more listed on other people’s websites. Therefore, you will start to receive a lot more mails and comments on your posts with those trackbacks.

Now, how can you stop those notifications?

Well, it is pretty simple. The first thing you have to do is to go to a post on which you want to turn those kind of notifications off. Hover, your mouse right under that post’s title, and a few options should become visible: Edit, Quick edit etc. See image below

 

Click on the quick edit feature and a menu should open.

 

 

Now, if we look on the right side of the screen, you will see 2 options: Allow Comments and Allow Pings. Usually, they are both checked.

What you want to do is to uncheck the Allow Pings option. That’s all :). From now, you won’t receive any notifications either by email or by comments on the post that you unchecked this option.

How can you change to all posts at once?

Hover your mouse on the Posts feature on the left side menu in your site dashboard. When the additional menu pops up, click on ALL posts. Now, if you look at the image below, you will see a Title feature with a box in front of it.

Check the box and click on Bulk Actions, select Edit and click Apply. A new menu will open.

 

It should look similar to this one. From here, go to the right side of the screen, find the Pings feature, click on it and select Do not allow. Make sure to click on Update after that!

That’s all!

Hope that this helped you out!

Cheers,

Andrei.

Remember that sharing is caring ! ^_^

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *